Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts

Electronic Resources

1984 Redistricting Legislation

2010 Tennessee Judicial Districts Estimated Population/Density

2016 Kentucky Judicial Redistricting Plan

2017 Tennessee Judicial Districts Estimated Population/Density

2018 Weighted Caseload By County Report

TCA 16-2-506 – Establishment of Judicial Districts

TCA 16-2-513 – Formula for Determining Need for Additional Judges

Amended Report of the Tennessee Trial Judges Association’s Judicial Resource Study Committee – Accepted October 24, 2017

A Review of the Configuration of Trial Level Judiciary of the State of Tennessee from 1978 to 2016: Compiled by Chancellor Tony A. Childress

A Review of the Configuration of the Trial Level Judiciary of the State of Tennessee from 1978- 2018 with Citations, Maps, and Summary of Changes that Occurred in 1984; by Chancellor Tony A. Childress - 29th Judicial District

Collateral Resources - Child Support Offices

Collateral Resources - Drug Task Forces

Compilation of Tennessee Judicial Weighted Caseload Study Update Data: A Decade Review - Compiled by the Weighted Caseload Committee of the Tennessee Judicial Conference

Current Makeup of Tennessee Judicial Districts


     District 1:  Carter, Johnson, Unicoi, Washington Counties

     District 2:  Sullivan County

     District 3:  Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins Counties

     District 4:  Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson, Sevier Counties

     District 5:  Blount County

     District 6:  Knox County

     District 7:  Anderson County

     District 8:  Campbell, Claiborne, Fentress, Scott, Union Counties

     District 9:  Loudon, Meigs, Morgan, Roane Counties

     District 10:  Bradley, McMinn, Monroe, Polk Counties

     District 11:  Hamilton County

     District 12:  Bledsoe, Franklin, Grundy, Marion, Rhea, Sequatchie Counties

     District 13: 

     District 14:  Coffee County

     District 15:  Jackson, Macon, Smith, Trousdale, Wilson Counties

     District 16:  Cannon, Rutherford Counties

     District 17:  Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall, Moore Counties

     District 18: Sumner County

     District 19:  Montgomery, Robertson Counties

     District 20:  Davidson County

     District 21:  Hickman, Lewis, Perry, Williamson Counties

     District 22:  Giles, Lawrence, Maury, Wayne Counties

     District 23:  Cheatham, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Stewart Counties

     District 24:  Benton, Carroll, Decatur, Hardin, Henry Counties

     District 25:  Fayette, Hardeman, Lauderdale, McNairy, Tipton Counties

     District 26:  Chester, Henderson, Madison Counties

     District 27:  Obion, Weakley Counties

     District 28:  Crockett, Gibson, Haywood Counties

     District 29:  Dyer, Lake Counties

     District 30:  Shelby County

     District 31:  VanBuren, Warren Counties

Filings per District; Filings per Judge; Judge Need, 2014-2017

House and Senate Redistricting Bills Proposed in 2013

Judge/Population Ratio

Map of Current Tennessee Judicial Districts

Population Trends

Projected Population Trends 2018-2024

Public Chapter No. 974/SB5 – Establishment of Advisory Task Force on Composition of Judicial Districts

Recovery Court Programs Coordinators

Summary - 2013 Proposed Redistricting Bills

Tennessee Judicial Districts with Personnel and Counties of Residence

Tennessee Trial Courts Judicial Weighted Caseload Study - 2013

Tennessee Judicial Weighted Caseload Study: FY 2016-17 Update with Map

Tennessee Judicial Weighted Caseload Study: FY 2017-18 Update with Snapshot and Map - April 2019

The Justice Management Institute (JMI) Tennessee Judicial Redistricting Study Staff Report – April 2009

TN Judicial Redistricting Study-Conclusions & Recommendations - April 2009

Virginia - 2011 Judicial Boundary Realignment Study Report

Weighted Caseload 2018 Graphs