LOCAL RULES OF PRACTICE FOR
WILLIAMSON COUNTY JUVENILE COURT
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Rule 1. ADOPTION OF RULES. These local rules are adopted by the Williamson
County Juvenile Court for practice before the Judge of the Juvenile Court and the Court’s
Magistrates.

Rule 2. SCOPE AND PURPOSE. These rules and the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile
Procedure shall govern the practice and procedure in the Juvenile Court of Williamson
County, Tennessee. They are intended to provide for the speedy and just determination
of every proceeding, and in juvenile proceedings they shall at all times be enforced and
construed beneficially for the remedial purposes embraced in Titles 36 and 37 of the
Tennessee Code Annotated. In the event of any conflict, the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile
Procedure shall prevail.

Rule 3. COURTROOM DECORUM. There will be no tobacco products, chewing of
gum, eating or drinking in the courtroom.

There will be no cellular devices, laptops, notebooks or any other technologically-based
communication/social networking device, allowed in the courtroom unless such devices
are silenced. Allowed electronic devices should be used for professional purposes and
shall not create a disruption to the activity of the courtroom. For the general public,
audience, and all juvenile defendants, the electronic devices must be turned off.

Lawyers, Court attendants, and all persons will be appropriately dressed while in Court
attendance.

The Court Officer or Court Security in attendance upon Court will be charged with the
responsibility of requiring compliance with these standards of courtroom conduct and
deportment.

Rule 4. OFFICE HOURS. The Office of Williamson County Juvenile Services and the
Office of the Juvenile Court Clerk shall be open for the regular transaction of business
from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except on non-judicial days. The Williamson County
Juvenile Detention Center will be open 24 hours per day and 7 days per week.

Rule 5. SESSIONS. Subiject to such variations as the Judge may find necessary or
convenient, there will be a session of Court daily except non-judicial days. The regularly
scheduled Court dockets shall begin at 8:30 a.m. for Detention Hearings and 9:00 a.m.
and 1:00 p.m. for all other matters. Hearings may be scheduled outside of the regularly
scheduled docket times at the discretion of the Judge or Magistrate presiding over the
matter. There will be a one-hour recess for lunch as directed by the presiding Judge or
Magistrate. Parties and attorneys will not be excused until released by the Court.
Attorneys are strongly urged to discuss their pending matters PRIOR to the beginning of
the Court session. Parties are expected to be prepared to proceed promptly at the
beginning of the morning and afternoon sessions. Law enforcement, attorneys,



defendants, etc., are to be in the courtroom and seated, at the opening of the session for
docket call. The Judge will get status reports of the cases pending at that time and go
over any preliminary matters. Attorneys or parties to proceedings shall notify the Court
as soon as possible if there is an anticipated delay in their arrival. In the event of a
weather or environmental-based emergency, the Court will continue to hold scheduled
sessions. If parties are unable to commute to Court, they must notify the Court of the
inability to be present by contacting the Williamson County Juvenile Court Clerk’s
Office or Williamson County Juvenile Services. All efforts will be made to conduct the
hearing for the parties that appear. In the unlikely event that Court is cancelled due to a
weather or environmental-based emergency, notice of such will be relayed to the local
television/radio stations to add to public closure listings.

Rule 6. COURT COSTS AND FILING FEES. Costs for filing a pleading, service of
process, and Court costs are to be established and assessed by the Juvenile Court Clerk.
The schedule of fees is available for inspection and copying upon request in the office of
the Juvenile Court Clerk. Filing fees or costs may be waived by the Court for good
cause.

Rule 7. FORM OF PLEADINGS. All pleadings filed or presented to the Court shall be
on letter-sized (8 1/2” x 11”) paper. An original pleading shall be filed in all causes and
shall be accompanied by sufficient copies necessary for service upon the parties.

Rule 8. RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS. All proceedings shall be recorded by the
Juvenile Court Clerk. Audio/video recordings will be maintained by the Court for a
period of one (1) year. In the discretion of the Court, copies of audio recordings may be
released to attorneys of record or court reporters. Any such party who desires to obtain a
copy of a recording shall submit a written request to the Court, setting forth the reasons
supporting the party’s need to review the recording.

Rule 9. COURT ORDERS. Orders shall be prepared by the Clerk of the Court unless
otherwise directed by the Judge or Magistrate. When an order is prepared by counsel,
such order shall be submitted to opposing counsel and the Court for approval no later
than five (5) business days, excluding non-judicial days following the court date. If the
parties are unable to agree to the language in an order, the parties shall submit a proposed
order for consideration by the Court within fifteen (15) business days from the court date.
In all cases, orders shall be provided to all necessary parties and include a certificate of
service.

Rule 10. ATTORNEYS. All attorneys licensed to practice law in Tennessee shall be
allowed to appear in any matter coming before the Court. It is the responsibility of the
attorney representing the party to bring it to the Court’s attention as soon as practical to
be made a part of Court record by filing a Notice of Appearance. In accordance to Rule
19 of Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Procedure, an attorney of record who wishes to
terminate their representation may do so only by permission of the Court.



Rule 11. SERVICE OF PROCESS, SUBPOENAS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS.
11.a. Service of Process. Unless the Court otherwise orders, every pleading or other
document filed with the Court shall be served on all parties and shall contain a Certificate
of Service or Summons. If the petitioner or respondent is represented by an attorney,
then it is the attorney’s responsibility to prepare any/all Certificates of Service and/or
Summons(s) and/or Subpoena(s) and forward same to the Juvenile Court Clerk. If the
petitioner or respondent is pro se, then it is the duty of the Youth Service Officer
assigned to the case to prepare and issue the summons or subpoena.

11.b. Child Support Matters. If parties are not represented by counsel, process in
Child Support matters shall be the responsibility of the Child Support Enforcement
Office. Once the pleading is served, the original shall be submitted to the Juvenile Court
Clerk’s Office, which shall accept them for filing.

11.c. Subpoenas. All subpoenas shall be typed or printed and served on the party,
witness, or officer. Forms are available at the Juvenile Court Clerk’s office. If the party
is represented by an attorney, then it is the attorney’s responsibility to prepare, print and
serve the subpoenas. Once served, original documents shall be filed with the Juvenile
Court Clerk. Subject to the discretion of the court, the service shall occur as quickly as
possible, but not later than five (5) days, excluding non-judicial days, before the
scheduled date of trial. If the matter requires an emergency or expedited hearing, the five
(5) day requirement may be waived. Parties not represented by attorneys may contact the
Youth Service Officer assigned to the case regarding necessary subpoenas and shall
provide the Court with contact information, including name, address, and phone numbers.

Rule 12. CONFIDENTIAL RECORDS. All records submitted or filed with the
Williamson County Juvenile Court shall be confidential records (which includes, but is
not limited to, medical records or evaluations, mental health records or evaluations,
substance abuse assessment/treatment records, drug screen results, reports from the
Tennessee Department of Children’s Services or other agencies, CASA reports and
probation reports) and shall not be disclosed or re-released to anyone for any purpose
other than the proceedings currently before this Court without further authorization from
the Judge of the Williamson County Juvenile Court.

Rule 13. PRETRIAL MOTIONS. All pretrial motions filed by attorneys shall be in
writing and must be filed with the Court and served on opposing counsel or party by 4:30
p.m., five (5) days, excluding non-judicial days, before the hearing in the matter. When a
child is in detention or an emergency hearing is necessary, this rule may be suspended to
allow quick preparation for court. In cases involving more than one party or involving
Guardians ad Litem, service shall be had on those persons in the same deadline.

Rule 14. DISCOVERY. The court shall allow discovery within the framework of the
rules upon written motion by any party, timely filed and upon good cause shown. Any
party may object to discovery by filing a written response promptly after the filing of the



Motion for Discovery. Failure to respond to the Motion for Discovery shall be
considered consent to such motion. The party, prior to filing a Motion for Discovery,
shall exhaust all efforts to come to an agreement for discovery and shall so certify to the
Court in the Motion for Discovery.

Discovery may be allowed under such terms and conditions as the court shall
prescribe. These rules of discovery shall not pertain to confidential information as set
forth by statute.

In all delinquent proceedings where the complainant is the state, the attorney for
the child, upon request, shall be given access to inspect and/or copy, or be informed of all
matters in the possession or control of the state which would be discoverable in Criminal
Court under the Rules of Criminal Procedure. To the extent possible, discovery shall be
done informally.

PLEASE NOTE: The District Attorney’s Office is not routinely involved in
misdemeanor petitions. Any discovery requests may be made to the law enforcement
officers and/or petitioners.

Rule 15. CONDUCT OF TRIALS. In the discretion of the Court, the general public
may be excluded from any juvenile or paternity proceeding and only those persons
having a direct interest in the case may be admitted. In juvenile proceedings a parent or
guardian must be present at every adjudicatory hearing unless excused by the Court in
writing or on the record.

Rule 16. SCHEDULING OF HEARINGS AND CONTINUANCES. The
Williamson County Juvenile Court Clerk’s Office will set all Attorney-filed pleadings,
and it will be the attorney’s responsibility to issue and serve all parties and witnesses.
Cases may be continued only by leave of the Court. Cases will not be continued except
for good cause. All cases continued by leave of the Court will be by written order stating
the reason for the continuance, at whose instance, and the date of reassignment. Agreed
continuances shall be by order signed by counsel for all parties and shall specify a new
hearing date. It is the responsibility of the party requesting the continuance to notify all
other parties and witnesses under subpoena of the continuance and the reset date. No
case shall be “continued indefinitely”. In any case which is continued, the Court may
award expenses and attorney’s fees, including compensation to witnesses for lost income
and/or travel expenses and tax the same as Court costs.

All dispositional hearings shall immediately occur after the adjudication of a
petition unless the Court deems otherwise. The Court may, upon proper motion or on its
own motion, set a later dispositional date.

All cases in which the State has announced its intention to transfer the case to
Criminal Court shall be set for a transfer hearing within ninety (90) days of the date on
which the child is taken into custody or the petition is filed, whichever is earlier. Counsel
may petition, and the Court, for good cause, may grant extensions in the time limit for the
hearing. In reviewing such a request, the Court will consider the reason for the request,
circumstances of the case, the well-being of the child and whether delaying a hearing on
the case will affect other related cases in other courts. If a child is detained beyond the



statutory ninety (90) day time period, upon appropriate application to the Court by the
attorney for the child, the Court will entertain a Motion to Set Bond.

If parties expect a hearing will take longer than two (2) hours of the court’s schedule, a
first appearance date will be scheduled and the parties shall make the court aware of the
need for a special set date. The presiding Judge or Magistrate will then set the date in
court.

Rule 17. GUARDIAN AD LITEM AND CASA. The Court may, either on its own
motion or at the request of any party, appoint a Guardian ad Litem and/or CASA to act on
behalf of a child in determining the best interest of the child in any action pending before
the Court. For the purpose of notice, CASA shall be notified of hearings and
continuances.

Rule 18. PRELIMINARY HEARINGS IN DEPENDENCY/NEGLECT
PROCEEDINGS. The purpose of a preliminary hearing is to determine whether
probable cause exists. The Court may terminate the hearing at any time that probable
cause has been established and the defendant(s) have been afforded the opportunity to
cross-examine the witnesses called by the plaintiff and to present defense proof
reasonably tending to rebut probable cause.

Protective Custody Order. Persons seeking a Protective Custody Order shall first file a
Petition with the Juvenile Court Clerk. The Court will then determine whether the matter
is an emergency and should be considered immediately ex parte or whether all parties can
be given notice and the opportunity to be heard. When the opposing party has counsel of
record, the party seeking the ex parte Order shall endeavor to give counsel notice that
he/she will be seeking an ex parte Order. Exceptions to this rule include situations where
time is of the essence and the best interest of welfare of the child (ren) will be
compromised if notice is given. Such notice as the circumstances permit shall be given.
Where no notice is given and counsel for the opposing party is known, parties seeking an
ex parte Order should present an affidavit showing why it was not possible to give notice.

Rule 19. EXTRAORDINARY RELIEF.

Temporary Restraining Orders: Persons seeking a Temporary Restraining Order shall
first file a Petition with the Juvenile Court Clerk. The Court will then determine whether
the matter is an emergency and should be considered immediately ex parte, or whether all
parties can be given notice and the opportunity to be heard. When the opposing party has
counsel of record, the party seeking the ex parte Order shall endeavor to give counsel
notice that he/she will be seeking an ex parte Order. Exceptions to this rule include
situations where time is of the essence and the best interest of welfare of the child (ren)
will be compromised if notice is given. Such notice as the circumstances permit shall be
given. Where no notice is given and counsel for the opposing party is known, parties
seeking an ex parte Order should present an affidavit showing why it was not possible to
give notice.



Rule 20. DELINQUENT CASES. (a) Arrest and detention of Juveniles: In cases
alleging juvenile delinquency, no child shall be placed in Juvenile Detention unless a
petition has been filed.

(b) Detention Hearings: When conducting detention hearings pursuant to Rule 15,
Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Procedure and T.C.A. 37-1-114, the detention hearings,
unless otherwise scheduled, will be heard Monday through Friday and a
parent/custodian/guardian must be present.

(c) Rules for the pre-trial and post-trial detention of delinquent offenders are governed by
T.C.A. 37-1-114 and the Williamson County Juvenile Detention Center Administrative
Manual. Those rules outlined in the manual regarding the rights of the juvenile, his/her
parents, guardian and representatives as to intervening, visiting, questioning and other
need for access to the child in detention have been approved and adopted by the Court
and are incorporated herein by reference.

Rule 21. REHEARING OF MATTERS HEARD BY THE MAGISTRATE. Any
party may request a rehearing before the Juvenile Judge by filing a request to set within
five (5) days of entry of the final order by the Juvenile Magistrate, excluding non-judicial
days. A rehearing will not be allowed in any delinquency or unruly cases in which the
magistrate recommends dismissal after hearing on the merits. The recommendation of
the magistrate, in all matters before the Court, shall be the decree of the Court pending a
rehearing, unless a stay is issued by the Judge. The Judge may, on his/her own motion,
order a rehearing of any matter heard by a Magistrate.

Rule 22. APPEALS. An appeal from the Court’s decision in a delinquency case may be
perfected by filing, in Juvenile Court, a notice of appeal within ten (10) days, excluding
non-judicial days, of the entry of the final order in the Juvenile Court. The notice of
appeal shall also be filed in the Circuit Criminal Court reflecting the appeal. Appeals on
dependent and neglect cases and unruly cases shall be made to the Circuit Court.

Appeals of Termination of Parental Rights cases shall be made to the Court of Appeals.
Appeals of matters heard in Juvenile Court pursuant to Title 36 shall be made to the
Court of Appeals. An appeal shall not operate as a stay and the order of this Court shall
remain in effect until or unless the appeals court enters an order to the contrary.

Rule 23. MEDIATION AND PARENTING PLANS. Parties shall be made aware that
mediation services are available and may be ordered at the discretion of the Court in
contested cases. The Court may also order that a Parenting Plan be submitted and
incorporated by references into any final order.

Unless otherwise ordered, the Court recommends contested actions, either for
initial orders or modification of existing orders of this court involving the following
issues to be referred to mediation prior to a trial on the merits:

1. Custody of the minor children;

2. Co-parenting responsibilities and schedules.

Upon motion of any party or sua sponte, the court may order any other eligible
matter within the jurisdiction of the court, except delinquency, and dependency/neglect



matters, to be referred to mediation prior to a trial on the merits. The parties may agree
on any person to be a mediator. If the parties cannot agree on a mediator, a motion shall
be made to the court to appoint a Rule 31 dispute resolution neutral mediator. Nothing in
this rule shall prevent the parties from proceeding with settlement negotiations prior to
mediation. Ifthe parties cannot afford the fees of mediation, then upon filing an affidavit
with the court, mediation expenses may be supplemented by the State of Tennessee.

Rule 24. WAIVERS OR MODIFICATION OF RULES. Any of the rules herein
enacted may be waived or modified by special order of the Court when in the Court’s
opinion such waiver or modification is necessary in order to protect the child (ren’s) best
interests, to do justice, or to arrive at the equities of the case between or among the
parties involved.

These Local Rules of the Juvenile Court of Williamson County, Tennessee, are
hereby adopted and entered on the minutes of the Court on this,

The (ﬂ/é/kday of W%’/ ,20 /5.
) " W

Sharon Guffee, Juvenile Court Judge




