
Fact Sheet:
Marriage and Emancipation

Rights and Responsibilities of  an 
emancipated minor

A minor who gets married is fully emancipated. What is 
“emancipation” or what does it mean to be “emancipated”? It 
means you have all the rights and responsibilities of  an adult, 
such as: 
• Your parents no longer have control or authority over you. 
• Your parents are not required to support you, including 

providing housing or insurance, or pay your taxes.
• You are no longer required by law to attend school. 
• You may manage your own property.
• You have the right to your own earnings, income, or salary.
• You may sue and you may be sued. 
• You may enter into contracts (such as to lease an apartment 

or borrow money).
• You may engage in a profession or vocation as if  you were 

18 years old.
• Even if  you divorce, or the marriage is annulled, before you 

turn 18 years old, you remain emancipated.  

HOWEVER, 
• You may not legally drink/purchase alcohol until you are 21 

years of  age.
• You may not vote until you are 18 years old.

Rights and Responsibilities of  
parties to a marriage

• Only parties 17 years old or older may be issued a marriage 
license.

• Parties may file for divorce for certain reasons.
• Being married could affect how you file your income tax 

return.
• You may be able to obtain health benefits through your 

spouse’s employer.
• You have a legal responsibility for a child  born during the 

marriage.
• If  you divorce after having a child or children, you may be 

responsible for the payment of  child support. 
• If  you divorce, you may be responsible for the payment of  

alimony to the other party.
• Being a married person affects how property is distributed 

upon the death of  a spouse.
• Marriage could affect your financial responsibilities for 

debts incurred during the marriage.
• You may be entitled to receive certain government benefits 

(such as Social Security, disability benefits) for spouses.
• You may be entitled to other benefits as a spouse of  certain 

qualifying persons (such as veterans, members of  the 
military).

The rights and responsibilities listed are not necessarily exhaustive and you are encouraged to 
contact one of the offices below if you have questions or would like more information.

Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and the Cumberlands
(Offices in Clarksville, Columbia, Cookeville, Gallatin,
 Murfreesboro, Nashville, Oak Ridge, Tullahoma)
1321 Murfreesboro Pike, Suite 400, Nashville, TN 37217 
Nashville: (615) 244-6610; Toll Free: (800) 238-1443
www.las.org

West TN Legal Services, Inc.
(Offices in Jackson, Dyersburg, Huntington, and Selmer) 
210 W. Main Street; P. O. Box 2066
Jackson, TN 38302-2066
Jackson: (731) 423-0616; Toll Free: (800) 372-8346
www.wtls.org

Legal Aid of East Tennessee 
(Offices in Knoxville, Chattanooga, Cleveland, Maryville,
 Johnson City, and Morristown)
607 W Summit Hill Dr. SW, Knoxville, TN 37902
Knoxville: (865) 637-0484; www.laet.org 

Memphis Area Legal Services, Inc. 
(Offices in Memphis and Covington)  
22 N. Front St., 11th Floor
Memphis, TN  38103 
Memphis: (901) 523-8822; www.malsi.org

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
If you are a victim of domestic violence and are in immediate danger, call 9-1-1. You may seek an Order of Protection if you are a victim 
of domestic abuse or violence. Contact your county’s Circuit Court or General Sessions Court Clerk’s office. You should also contact law 
enforcement.

The National Domestic Violence Hotline
1-800-799-SAFE (7233)
www.theHotline.org

The National Sexual Assault Hotline
1-800-656-HOPE (4673)
www.rainn.org
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