
{RDT\000006\00065350.DOC V1 } 

TENNESSEE'S ADOPTION CODE IN PRACTICE 
 
 Robert D. Tuke 

Trauger & Tuke 
222 Fourth Ave. No. 
Nashville, TN 37219 

rtuke@tntlaw.net 
 
 INTRODUCTION 
 

Tennessee's Adoption Code, as enacted in 1996 and amended at various times since, is 
much more comprehensive and specific than the former statute.  As a result, special attention is 
required of lawyers, judges and clerks to be sure parties comply with the specific provisions of 
the Code.  The Department of Children’s Services (DCS) has issued numerous "public necessity" 
rules and regulations, as well as forms, implementing the Code, and they are subject to periodic 
change.   
 
 SUMMARY AND OVERVIEW 
 

Among the most interesting provisions in the Code are as follows: 
 
· It expressly recites that the best interests of children are protected by the Constitutions of 

both the United States and the State of Tennessee. 
 
· In cases of conflict between the interests of adults and those of children, courts are 

instructed to favor (not merely consider) the best interests of the child. 
 
· Biological fathers are required to assert their parental interests within 30 days of learning 

of their alleged paternity, and hearings on termination of parental rights and other 
procedural aspects of adoption are generally required to be held on an expedited, priority 
basis, often within 30 days of the time contested rights are asserted.  Appeals are required 
to be heard on an expedited, priority basis, and a one year statute of repose is included, 
which forbids collateral attack on a final order of termination or of adoption for any 
reason whatsoever after one year following the final order. 

 
· The rights of biological parents may be terminated by court proceedings based upon the 

following grounds (among others): abandonment; substantial non-compliance with a 
foster care plan; removal from a home on the ground of neglect or abuse for a period of 6 
months or greater; severe child abuse; or conviction for causing the wrongful death of the 
other parent. In addition, the parental rights of a person who is not a legal parent may be 
terminated based upon the following grounds (among others): failure to pay without good 
cause or excuse a reasonable share of prenatal, natal, and postnatal expenses; failure to 
pay without good cause reasonable and consistent child support; failure to seek 
reasonable visitation, and if visitation has been granted, engaging in only token visitation; 
failure to manifest an ability and willingness to assume legal and physical custody of the 
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child; a risk of substantial harm to the physical or psychological welfare of the child; or 
the failure of an unmarried father to file a petition to establish parentage of a child within 
30 days of notice of alleged paternity.  In addition, a man who has obtained an order of 
parentage of a child born out of wedlock may nevertheless have his parental rights 
terminated if he is found to meet any of the other termination criteria mentioned above. 

 
· Surrenders may be taken no sooner than three (3) calendar days after the birth of the 

child, unless good cause is shown to the court. The surrender may be revoked within 10 
days after the date the child is surrendered before the same judge who took the surrender 
or a designated substitute. However, if the tenth day falls on a weekend or legal holiday, 
then the last day for revoking is on the next day which is not a weekend or legal holiday.  

 
·   A Waiver of Interest and Notice affidavit may be executed by the alleged biological father 

prior to the birth of the child provided the biological mother has executed a sworn 
statement naming him as the father, or after birth. The executed waiver terminates the 
alleged biological father's parental rights and responsibilities without a right to revoke. If 
an adoption does not occur, however, the father’s financial responsibilities and rights may 
be restored by court order. 

 
· Expenses paid to birth parents or on behalf of birth parents are limited in both time and 

type of expense.  
 
· Tennessee's Putative Father Registry requires registration prior to or within 30 days after 

the birth of a child requires a putative father to file change of address information within 
10 days of any such change.  Registration will subject the registrant to court ordered child 
support, medical payments and other payments and damages in connection with the 
paternity of the child.  A person who is registered has 30 days from receipt of the notice 
of a pending adoption or termination proceeding to file a petition to establish parentage or 
to intervene for the purpose of establishing a claim to paternity.  The failure to file a 
petition or to intervene within 30 days of such notice is a ground for termination of 
parental rights. 

 
· Final orders of adoption generally are entered after 6 months of the filing of a petition, 

and may not be challenged for any reason after 1 year their entry. 
 
· Abbreviated preliminary home studies are required before placement in an adoptive 

home, with complete home studies required within 60 days of such placement. A report to 
the court by the appointed agency conducting the home study is required before a final 
order of adoption may be entered. 

 
· Notice of the availability of legal and social counseling must be provided to birth parents. 

If the birth parent cannot afford such counseling, the adoptive couple must pay for such 
counseling, and if a birth parent has requested such counseling but has not received it, the 
court may not accept a surrender of that birth parent's parental rights until such counseling 
has been provided. 
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· All fees and expenses charged by attorneys, agencies, and any others involved in the 

adoption process must be disclosed to the court in the surrender proceeding and in the 
adoption petition. In the final order the court must approve the fees retroactively or order 
reimbursement of unauthorized fees and expenses. DCS is required to collect data of fees 
and expenses and to make that data available to prospective adoptive couples on request, 
without comment. 

 
· Out-of-state agencies are required to subject themselves to the laws of the State of 

Tennessee in connection with any adoption originating or occurring in Tennessee. 
 
· Effective July 1, 1996, adoption records (as defined in the statute) became available to all 

adoptees age 21 and over (or their legal representatives), but a birth parent may file a 
"contact veto" on the Contact Veto Registry maintained by the Department of Children's 
Services, on behalf of themselves, their immediate families, and their descendants.  In 
doing so, a birth parent may veto contact by any person who requests information from 
the adoption records or indicate how and when contact would be permitted.  The contact 
veto may be modified, rescinded, or reinstated at any time. 

 
 
 SPECIFIC STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
 
1. Construction.  Section 36-1-101 states that the rights and interests of persons affected by 
adoption, especially those of the adoptees, are protected by the Constitutions of the United States 
and the State of Tennessee. 
 

The Section also states that a purpose of the Act is to favor the rights of adopted persons 
and their families to obtain information about themselves from the adoption records but also to 
recognize the rights of persons not to be contacted if they do not wish to be contacted. 
 

Finally, this Section states: "In all cases, when the best interests of the child and those of 
the adults are in conflict, such conflict shall always be resolved to favor the rights and best 
interests of the child, which interests are hereby recognized as constitutionally protected and, to 
that end, this part shall be liberally construed." 
 

Thus, the General Assembly has statutorily recognized the constitutional rights of 
adoptees and the constitutional rights of children to have their best interests favored. 
 
2. Abandonment.  Section 36-1-102(1) contains a revised definition of abandonment.  It 
provides that a parent need not be shown to have "evinced a settled purpose for forego all 
parental rights and responsibilities" in order for abandonment to be found.  Instead, the strict 
statutory four month abandonment period previously in the law is to be enforced. 
 
3. Consent. (102(13)) The definition of consent has been expanded and includes a consent 
of a biological parent who co-signs an adoption petition in lieu of a surrender.  Subsection 36-1-
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117(g) of the Act provides specific guidance to the courts on handling consents in lieu of 
surrenders.  
 
4. Guardians/Guardianship. (102(21) and (22))  The concept of guardianship is dealt with 
more carefully in the Code than in the past.  The concepts of "complete" guardianship and 
"partial" guardianship are introduced and distinguished.  This becomes important when 
termination of the rights of some, but not all parents or guardians have been accomplished so that 
a "partial guardianship" continues to exist.  Ultimately, all parental and guardianship rights must 
be adjudicated by the court considering the adoption petition. Upon surrender or the filing of the 
adoption petition, adoptive parents or agencies accepting surrenders are now granted partial or 
full guardianship in accordance with the situation.  
 
5. Entities Authorized to Place Children.  Section 36-1-108 provides more specificity on 
what kind of agencies and persons may engage in adoption activities, and what activities will 
require licensure.  In addition, that section requires information to be reported to the court 
regarding fees charged by agencies and attorneys.  That information in turn is required to be 
reported to DCS, which will establish procedures to assist court officers in obtaining this 
information and reporting it to DCS.  
 
6. Illegal Payments in Connection with Placement of the Child for Adoption.  Section 36-1-
109 specifies what types of expenses may be paid in connection with the placement or birth of 
the child for adoption. Allowable expenses include hospital and medical services for the care of 
the mother and child and for the birth of the child; reasonable counseling fees for a period of up 
to one (1) year for the surrendering parent; and for reasonable legal services or costs related to 
the adoption. Payment for living expenses are limited to reasonable and actual expenses for 
housing, food, maternity clothes, utilities or transportation, provided that payments for these 
expenses not exceed ninety (90) days prior to or forty-five (45) days after the birth or surrender of 
the child or parental consent to the adoption of the child, unless there is prior approval by court 
order. Expenses paid or promised to be paid must be disclosed in the surrender or with the 
parental consent and also with the adoption petition.  
 
7. Persons Under 18 Years of Age. Section 36-1-110 specifies that persons under 18 have 
the legal capacity to surrender a child for adoption.  The section also states that the court shall 
have authority to appoint a guardian ad litem for a minor parent of a child who may be 
surrendered, in the court's discretion.  This section does not state who is to pay for this guardian 
ad litem, but the assumption is that the adoptive couple will pay this cost.  
 
8. Surrender, Consent and Waiver.  Section 36-1-111 is the longest section in the Code.  It is 
intended to make the surrender procedure more precise so that parties and the courts will follow 
consistent practice.  The result, however, is a long and somewhat tedious road map.  The 
following steps must be taken in the surrender (identified by the subdivisions of the Section): 
 

(a)  A preliminary home study or home study must be accomplished and submitted to the 
court before the court may accept a surrender or a consent to adoption and before the 
court can enter any order of guardianship giving prospective adoptive parents 
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guardianship of a child to be adopted.  The home study is required to be kept confidential 
and can only be viewed on order of the court.  

 
(b)  Surrenders must be made in chambers except as otherwise provided in the Code, and 
the right of revocation must be explained. 

 
(c)  A prospective adoptive parent must be at least 18 years of age to receive a surrender. 
DCS or licensed child-placing agencies also may receive surrenders. 

 
(d)  Surrenders or consents may not be given prior to the birth of a child, except for 
surrenders executed in conformity with the laws of another state and except for waivers 
of parental interest given by biological fathers.  In addition, unless waived by the court for 
good cause shown (entered on the minute book of the court), no surrender or parental 
consent may be given until 3 calendar days after the birth of the child.  The surrendering 
or consenting parent must receive legal or social counseling if he or she expresses a desire 
to receive it, and the court is required to receive certification of satisfaction or withdrawal 
of such a request.  Any entity or person who has physical custody of a child under a prior 
court order must consent to the surrender.  Finally, the persons or entity receiving the 
surrender must have physical custody of the child or must provide an affidavit certifying 
that they or it will receive physical custody of the child within five days of the surrender 
or must satisfy the court that they or it have the right to receive physical custody of the 
child upon the child's release from a health care facility. 

 
(e)  The surrender form must state the beginning and ending dates for revocation and 
must include a place where the date of the expiration of the revocation period can be 
inserted. 

 
(f)  Guardianship is to be granted to DCS or licensed child-placing agencies who receive 
surrenders as well as to the adoptive parents who accept a surrender. Hence, petion for 
guardianship should be filed with the surrender, together with a proposed order of 
guardianship. 
 
(g)  Proven identification is required, and names may not be left blank, nor may 
pseudonyms be provided on the surrender form. 

 
(h)  Surrenders may be made by persons who reside in another state or territory in 
accordance with the laws of that other state or territory or may be made before a judge, 
chancellor or clerk of any court of such state or territory utilizing the Tennessee 
procedure. 
 
(i)  Surrenders also may be made before officers of the United States armed forces having 
the right to administer oaths when the surrendering person is in a foreign jurisdiction. 
 
(j)  Surrenders by persons who are incarcerated may be made before the warden of the jail 
or prison, with all signatures being properly notarized. 
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(k)  The court is required to receive under oath the surrender, information on the child's 
and the surrendering parents' social and medical histories and the histories of their 
biological relatives, as under current law.  The form and other information filed with the 
court are required to be kept in a separate file designated for the purpose until it is 
forwarded to the court gaining jurisdiction through an adoption petition.  A copy of the 
background information is required to be furnished to the adoptive parents or their 
attorney.  In addition, an interview with the judge (or other official before whom a 
surrender is made) is required.  Among other things, a statement is required, under oath, 
as to the following: 

 
· the identity of any other legal or biological parent or legal guardian of the child to 

be surrendered; 
 

· whether the child is of Native American heritage; 
 

· whether the child is intended to be sent out of state for the purpose of adoption, 
and if so, that the surrendering parent elects to have Tennessee law apply to the 
surrender; 

 
· any money, remuneration or other value he or she has received or been promised, 

or any other person has received or been promised, in connection with the 
adoption; 

 
· whether he or she desires social counseling; 

 
· whether the person is represented by legal counsel or wishes to be so represented; 

 
· whether the person is freely giving his or her surrender and understands the right 

to revoke and the time limits for revocation; 
 

· whether the child to be adopted has any real or personal property or expectancy of 
any kind; and 

 
· the status of legal and physical custody of the child at the time of surrender or 

immediately thereafter.  
 

In addition, subdivision (k)(3) requires the person surrendering the child or consenting to 
the child's adoption to complete a form indicating whether that parent wishes to file a 
contact veto with the Contact Veto Registry. These forms are provided with the surrender.  

 
(l)  When a child is being surrendered directly to adopting parent(s), a certification form 
regarding the desire of a surrendering parent to have legal counseling or social counseling 
must be included with the surrender papers. 
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(m)  The following documents must be furnished with the surrender when made directly 
to adoptive parents: 

 
1. A currently effective or updated home study or preliminary home study; 
 
2. Certification of the completion or declining of counseling; 
 
3. An affidavit stating whether the person(s) receiving the surrender has physical 

custody of the child or when they will receive physical custody; 
 
4. If the child has been brought into Tennessee from another state and compliance 

with the Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children is required, ICPC Form 
100A must be supplied, or a sworn statement to why such form is not required 
must be provided; and if the child is to be sent out-of-state for adoption, then a 
statement must be provided that there will be compliance with the interstate 
compact; and 

 
5. If the Indian Child Welfare Act (25 U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.) applies, a sworn 

statement that there has been compliance with that Act. 
 

(n)  A licensed child-placing agency receiving surrenders must complete items 3, 4 and 5 
above, and if DCS receives a surrender, it must complete items 3 and 5 above. 

 
(o)  The statute reiterates that no surrender may be accepted and no guardianship order 
may be entered until there has been compliance with the above documentary 
requirements. 

 
(p)  The clerk of the court is required to provide certified copies of the surrender to DCS, 
the agency or individual(s) to whom the surrender is given, at the receiving person's cost. 
It is required to remain confidential unless released for inspection by court order. 

 
(q)  The person to whom a child is surrendered is required to file a certified copy of the 
original surrender in the chancery or circuit court where thae adoption petition is filed 
within 15 days of the surrender or within 15 days of when the petioner or child becomes a 
resident of Tennessee, whichever is sooner. 

 
(r)  A surrender, a confirmed parental consent, or a waiver of interest in accordance with 
the statute all have the effect of terminating all rights of the parent or guardian who has 
thus surrendered, consented, or waived interest, subject only to revocation rights as set 
forth in the statute.  A child subject to such a surrender, consent or waiver, however, still 
is entitled to inherit from the surrendering, consenting or waiving parent until a final 
order of adoption or termination of parental rights is entered.  

 
The statute states that the person or entity receiving the surrender or consent does not 
obtain guardianship of the child except by specific court order.  In addition, if any other 
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court has prior jurisdiction over the guardianship of the child, that court retains 
jurisdiction for the purpose of awarding guardianship or otherwise providing for the 
disposition of the child until the filing of a petition for adoption.  Otherwise, the court 
before which the surrender is given has the express authority to enter an order of 
guardianship to the person or entity receiving the surrender.  

 
Hence, the practice is for parties to move the court to enter an order of guardianship at 
each occasion when a surrender is received.  If multiple surrenders are received, the court 
where the first surrender is filed has first jurisdiction for the purpose of entering a 
guardianship order. 

 
  Subdivision (r)(6) details the guardianship procedure and should be read with care.  
 

(s)  Unlike many other states, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement 
Act (T.C.A. § 36-6-201 et seq.) expressly governs jurisdiction over the disposition of a 
child subject to multiple claims of jurisdiction. 

 
(t)  Subsection (t) governs orders of reference for home studies and court reports with 
respect threto. Unless prospective adoptive parents are indigent, they are required to bear 
the cost of the home study. 
 
(u)  Full compliance with the Code’s provisions requiring the filing of surrenders in the 
adoption court is required within 15 days, and an order of guardianship must be obtained 
within 30 days of the date a parental consent is filed or surrender is given.  Failure to 
meet these time periods constitutes grounds for removal of the child from the physical 
care and control of the persons receiving the surrender or consent and other court orders. 

 
(v)  The court in which a surrender or consent is given has broad jurisdiction to provided 
for the care and custody of a surrendered child.  If proceedings are commenced persons to 
whom a child has been surrendered and any others having guardianship are necessary 
parties.  Final hearings regarding removal must be held within 30 days of the preliminary 
hearing (which must be held within 30 days of the triggering event).  Orders removing a 
child from the custody of a person to whom a surrender is given must be based upon clear 
and convincing evidence.  

 
(w)  This subdivision provides for a Waiver of Interest and Notice affidavit, which is 
effective to terminate the parental rights of an alleged biological father who is not a legal 
father.  The form of the waiver is specified in the statute.  It is important to note that the 
waiver may be executed prior to the birth of the child if the biological mother executes a 
sworn statement identifying the waiving person as the father of the child to be born.  
Otherwise, a waiver may be executed at any time after the birth of the child.  The waiver 
must be sworn. There is no provision for revocation following the execution of the 
waiver. If an adoption does not occur, however, the father’s financial responsibilities and 
rights may be restored by court order. 
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9. Revocation of Surrenders and Consents. Under Section 36-1-112, the revocation period is 
10 calendar days.  If the 10th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the last day for 
revocation is the next day thereafter which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.  A 
revocation is required to be executed under oath by the person who executed the surrender.  If the 
judge before whom the surrender was given is not available to receive a revocation, any other 
judge who is qualified to receive a surrender may receive the revocation.  Revocations after the 
expiration of the 10 day period are not valid, but the 10 day period may not be cut short by the 
filing of a petition for adoption.  The execution of a revocation of surrender within the 10 day 
period is a ground for the dismissal of any adoption petition filed within that period.  
 

In addition, a parental consent may be revoked at any time prior to the entry of an order of 
confirmation of the parental consent by the court where the consent is given.  
 

The form for revocation is attached to the surrender.  The original must be maintained in 
the office of the clerk or the office of the person receiving the surrender, and copies must be sent 
by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the child's parents, prospective adoptive parents and 
the local office of DCS or license child placing agency to whom the child had been surrendered.  
In addition, copies of the revocation and surrender must be sent by certified mail to the DCS 
State Office in Nashville.  
 

A surrender that has not been revoked, a confirmed consent or a waiver of interest may 
not be set aside except upon clear and convincing evidence of duress, fraud, intentional 
misrepresentation or statutory invalidity.  Any action based on those grounds must be initiated 
within 30 days of the execution of the surrender or waiver of interest, or within 30 days of the 
entry of the order of confirmation of parental consent. 
 

The revocation returns the child's legal status to that which existed before the surrender.  
Specific procedures must be followed by the court with respect to transferring custody of the 
child.  Reference should be made to Subsection 36-1-112(e) for these provisions. 
 

In short, a return of custody is required within five days of receipt of a revocation by the 
person to whom surrender was initially given, unless a change of custody is to be contested.  The 
statute provides the means for contest, and requires a petition to be filed within five days and a 
final hearing on the merits to be held within 30 days of a preliminary hearing unless cause is 
shown in a written order of the court why a longer period is required before a final hearing may 
be held. 
 

The child who is the subject matter of such a proceeding must be returned to the custody 
of the revoking parent unless clear and convincing evidence shows that the child's safety and 
health would thereby be put in immediate danger.  The courts are given expansive authority to 
deal with custody and guardianship issues in connection with revocation, including ultimate 
authority to award custody to other persons if required. 
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10. Termination of Parental Rights.  Section 36-1-113 is a provision permitting courts to 
terminate parental or guardianship rights in a separate proceeding or as part of an adoption 
proceeding.  It grants jurisdiction to chancery, circuit and juvenile courts to terminate parental 
rights in connection with an adoption.  Prospective adoptive parents, a licensed child-placing 
agency, a guardian ad litem or DCS has standing to file a petition under this section.  
Termination of parental rights requires clear and convincing evidence of grounds set forth in the 
section and a finding that termination is in the best interest of the child. 
 

Subsection (d) contains the requirements for the petition.  Among these requirements is a 
verified statement that the Putative Father Registry has been consulted within 10 working days 
prior to the filing of the petition, whether any other claim of paternity exists, and whether any 
other termination proceeding or surrender has occurred in connection with the adoption.  Persons 
entitled to notice of adoption proceedings are necessary parties to termination proceedings.  
Venue lies in the county in which the child currently resides in the physical custody of the 
petitioners, or in any court which had previously awarded custody of the child. 
 

Subsection (g) contains the grounds for termination. Subdivisions (1) through (5) are 
essentially those which were included in Title 37 dealing with termination of parental rights with 
respect to juveniles.  Subdivision (6) permits termination in the event of incarceration under a 
sentence of ten or more years when the child is less than eight years of age.  Subdivision (7) 
permits termination of the parental rights of a parent who has been found guilty or liable for the 
wrongful death of the other parent or legal guardian.  Subdivision (8) deals with the termination 
of parental rights of a mentally incompetent person. 
 

Subdivision (9) is of particular interest, because it permits the termination of parental 
rights of a "nonparticipatory" parent who is not a legal parent.  The subdivision responds to the 
Tennessee Supreme Court decision of Nale v. Robertson, which requires a termination of 
parental rights of the putative father before adjudication of an adoption petition. In this 
subdivision the General Assembly has attempted to describe a parent who has "failed to seize the 
opportunity to parent" under the United States Supreme Court decision of Lehr v. Robertson.  It 
also incorporates the ground of a risk of substantial harm to the physical or psychological welfare 
of a child, recognized by the Tennessee Supreme Court in Hawk v. Hawk. 

 
Also under subdivision (8) are these grounds for terminating the parental rights of a 

parent who is not a legal parent: failure to pay without good cause or excuse a reasonable share 
of prenatal, natal, and postnatal expenses; failure to pay without good cause reasonable and 
consistent child support; failure to seek reasonable visitation, and if visitation has been granted, 
engaging in only token visitation; failure to manifest an ability and willingness to assume legal 
and physical custody of a child; or the failure to file a petition to establish parentage a child 
within 30 days of notice of alleged paternity. 
 

In addition, a man who has obtained an order of parentage of a child born out of wedlock 
may nevertheless have his parental rights terminated if he is found to meet any of the other 
termination criteria mentioned above. 
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Subsection (h) contains specific grounds under which DCS must seek to have parental 
rights terminated and must make a diligent effort to make an adoption placement. 

 
Subsection (i) contains a list of factors a court is required to consider (among others) in 

determining whether termination of parental rights is in the best interest of a child.  Note that this 
list of factors differs from (but does not conflict with) the list of factors found in T.C.A. § 36-6-
106 dealing with child custody. 
 

Subsection (j) permits a court to admit evidence under the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile 
Procedure as well as the Tennessee Rules of Evidence. 

 
Subsection (k) requires a hearing to be held within 6 month’s of the filing of an adoption 

petition, unless the court determines that an extension is in the best interest of the child, and 
requires specific findings of fact and conclusions of law. 
 

Subsection (l) states the effects of an order terminating parental rights, including 
elimination of any further notice of adoption proceedings to the parent whose rights have been 
terminated.  It also retains inheritance rights of the child to be adopted until a final order of 
adoption is entered, in spite of termination. 
 

Subsections (m) through (o) authorize the entry of guardianship orders in the event of 
termination. 
 

Subsection (p) requires that a copy of an order of termination obtained by prospective 
adoptive parents be filed with their petition for adoption, if that is a separate petition. 
 

Section (q) prohibits a collateral attack on an order terminating parental rights on the 
basis of defect or irregularity except by timely appeal, and in no event may an order terminating 
parental rights be collaterally attacked after one year from the date of entry of a final order.  The 
section states that this provision is intended to be a statute of repose. 
 
11. Persons Eligible to File Adoption Petitions.  Section 36-1-115 specifies who is entitled to 
file an adoption petition.  A person must be over 18 years of age and must have physical custody 
or demonstrate the right to receive physical custody of the child to be adopted (unless the petition 
is an intervening petition). The petitioner must be joined by his or her spouse, and at least one 
petitioner must have lived or maintained a regular place of abode in Tennessee for six 
consecutive months proceeding the filing of the petition. The residency requirements do not 
apply in a related person adoption so long as the petitioner is an actual resident at the time the 
petition is filed. 
 
12. Contents of Adoption Petitions and Requirements for Home Studies. Section 36-1-116 
contains very specific requirements regarding home studies and the contents of adoption 
petitions. Rather than repeat these specifics here, I simply urge the practitioner to read the 
Section with care. 
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13. Necessary Parties.  Section 36-1-117 contains provisions dealing with necessary parties, 
consents and service of process.  It is very specific and makes reference to the various surrender, 
waiver, consent and termination provisions elsewhere in the statute. 
 

Subsection (b) gives the court where the adoption petition is filed exclusive jurisdiction to 
decide any petition to establish parentage previously filed under Section 36-2-318.  The 
subsection also provides that the granting of an order of parentage does not prevent the 
termination of parental rights pursuant to a petition filed under Section 36-1-113.  The subsection 
goes on to delineate how the court should deal with custody in the event an order of parentage is 
granted and parental rights are not terminated.  The Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and 
Enforcement Act (T.C.A. § 36-6-201 et seq.) determines jurisdiction if necessary. 
 

Subsection (c) contains the description of biological fathers who are necessary parties to a 
proceeding if their rights have not previously been surrendered, waived or terminated. 
 

Subsection (d) provides that other biological or legal relatives are not necessary parties to 
a proceeding unless they are legal guardians. 
 

Subsection (e) provides notice to agencies having custody or partial guardianship of the 
child. 
 

Subsection (g) contains the provisions permitting a parental consent to be given in lieu of 
a surrender by a biological parent's joining in the petition for that purpose.  The giving of such a 
consent does not terminate the parental rights of the consenting parent until an order confirming 
the consent is entered.  A notice of at least ten calendar days by the court is required before a 
confirming order may be entered.  The confirming order may not be entered until an interview is 
conducted as required under the surrender provisions (Section 36-1-111), and the additional 
documents required for surrenders under that section are provided to the court.  Revocation of 
consent is permitted at any time before confirmation of the consent, utilizing the procedures 
found in Section 36-1-112. 
 

Subsection (k) recognizes the validity of consents or surrenders under the laws of other 
nations or states, and permits the filing of copies of such orders or surrenders in satisfaction of 
the consent requirements of this law. 
 

The remaining subsections deal with service of process, and authorize the entry of default 
judgments. 
 
14. Dismissal of Adoption Petitions; Court Ordered Revocations.  Section 36-1-118 contains 
very specific requirements regarding when and how courts may or must dismiss adoption 
petitions. It also states the conditions under which a court directs that surrenders be revoked and  
Provides that parental rights may be reinstated only with the consent of the surrendering parent.  
Finally, it deals with the jurisdiction of courts to provide for the legal custody and guardianship 
of the child after the adoption petition is dismissed. Again, rather than repeat these specifics here, 
I simply urge the practitioner to read the Section with care. 
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15. Final Orders of Adoption.  Sections 36-1-119 and 36-1-120 deal with final orders of 
adoption, with the latter Section providing the specific contents of the final order. Again, rather 
than repeat these specifics here, I simply urge the practitioner to read the Section with care.  
 
16. Effects of Adoptions on Relationships.  Sections 36-1-121 and 36-1-122 deal with the 
effects of adoptions on relationships. Section 36-1-122 contains a statute of repose, making final 
orders of adoption not subject to collateral attack after one year of their entry. 
 
17. Illegal Custodial Interference.  Section 36-1-123 states that any person whose parental or 
guardianship rights have been terminated in connection with an adoption proceeding who, 
otherwise then by legal process, obtains custody of a child who has been adopted shall be in 
violation of and shall be subject to prosecution pursuant to the provisions of T.C.A. § 39-13-306, 
which is the parental custodial interference statute.  This is a Class E felony unless the person 
taken from lawful custody is returned voluntarily, in which case the custodial interference is a 
Class A misdemeanor. 
 
18. Expedited Court Schedules of Contested Cases.  Section 36-1-124 requires the trial court 
to expedite all contested termination and adoption proceedings, consistent with due process, by 
entering scheduling orders and by giving such cases priority over all other civil litigation other 
than child protective services cases.  In addition, all appeals of contested cases must be expedited 
by the court of appeals consistent with their rules, by the entry of scheduling orders and by giving 
such appeals priority over all other civil litigation other than child protective services cases.  This 
section expressly states that it is the intent of the General Assembly that the permanency of the 
placement of a child should not be delayed any longer than is absolutely necessary consistent 
with the rights of all parties, and that the rights of the child to permanency at the earliest possible 
date be given priority over all civil litigation other than child protective services cases. 
 
19. Confidentiality of Records and Access Thereto.  Sections 36-1-125 through 137 deal with 
the confidentiality of adoption records, the access to such records by adopted persons and certain 
others, and the establishment of the Contact Veto Registry.  Adoption records (as defined in the 
statute) are available to all adoptees age 21 and over (or their legal representatives), but a birth 
parent may file a "contact veto" on the Contact Veto Registry maintained by the Department of 
Children's Services, on behalf of themselves, their immediate families, and their descendants.  In 
doing so, a birth parent may veto contact by any person who requests information from the 
adoption records or indicate how and when contact would be permitted.  The contact veto may be 
modified, rescinded, or reinstated at any time. Sections 36-1-301 through 305 require and govern 
a 15-day advance notice period to be afforded eligible persons who request such advance notice 
before adoption records are released to any person seeking access to such records. 
 

Section 36-1-125 permits courts to use the adoption records consistent with any pending 
litigation or court proceedings concerning the adoption.  The section also provides that if the 
adoption records are required to be used in some court other than in the adoption proceeding, the 
court in which they are to be utilized must enter a protective order to restrict their further 
disclosure or dissemination.  The unauthorized disclosure of any records protected as confidential 
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is a Class A misdemeanor.  The unauthorized disclosure of records for personal gain or a 
malicious purpose is a Class E felony. 
 

Section 36-1-126 requires that upon the entry of a final order of adoption, all adoption 
records, reports, etc. in the possession of the courts, the offices of a licensed child-placing 
agency, licensed social worker, DCS, or the Department of Health shall be placed under seal and 
disclosed only as provided in the statute.  All records relating to the placement of children in the 
hands of agencies or licensed clinical social workers are required to be forwarded to DCS in the 
State Office.  The agencies are permitted to retain certain limited information, which must be 
kept confidential for the purpose of advising parties about where and when the adoption 
proceedings occurred. 
 

The clerk of the court is required to send a certified copy of any order of adoption or 
dismissal to the DCS State Office adoption unit in Nashville.  The clerks of the courts also are 
authorized to undertake efforts to locate records that may be on the premises of such courts, 
including records of former county courts.  Such records are to be forwarded to DCS. 
 

Section 36-1-127(e)(2) requires the written consent of biological parents who are the 
victims of rape or incest before identifying information about them may be released. 
 
20. Court Ordered Release of Information.  Section 36-1-138 contains the provisions dealing 
with court ordered release of adoption records.  It provides that adoption records, whether sealed 
or otherwise, may be disclosed pursuant to this section upon a written, sworn motion before the 
court of original jurisdiction of the adoption proceeding, or, if the proceeding is not yet filed, in 
the chancery or circuit court of the county where the record is located, or in the chancery or 
circuit court of any county having a population of 100,000 or greater in the 1990 Federal Census 
or any subsequent census.  Motions filed on the basis of alleged improper denial of access to 
information by DCS or the Department of Health must be brought in circuit or chancery court for 
Davidson County.  If the court which had original jurisdiction was a county court or a court 
which no longer exists, the chancery court for the county in which that court had been established 
has jurisdiction to consider the motion, in addition to the circuit or chancery courts in counties 
having a population of 100,000 or greater.  Agencies and DCS are required to disclose the 
identity of the court where proceedings occurred when inquired of by an affected person. 
 

The motion must be served on the Commissioner of DCS and the Commissioner of the 
Department of Health by certified mail or personal service.  A hearing is required to be held no 
sooner than 15 days after the return receipt is dated or after personal service is accomplished. 
 

Subsection (c)  provides that the adoption records may be open under whatever conditions 
the court shall determine necessary if the court finds, for good cause shown, that the best interests 
of the adoptive person or the public requires disclosure and that one or more of six conditions are 
met: 
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(1) The information is necessary for treating or preventing physical, psychological, or 
psychiatric conditions described by testimony or affidavit of a "qualified treatment  
professional" (defined in the section); 

 
(2) The information is needed to establish legal status or standing for inheritance or 
property right determinations or for the determination of legal relationships with third 
parties; 

 
(3) The information is necessary to prosecute or defend a legal proceeding and that 
alternative information sources are not available; 

 
(4) A public agency needs the information in connection with its authorized duties and 
the information cannot be obtained by any other method, or further delay may result in 
harm to the adopted person, the person's legal relations or the public; 

 
(5) The movant alleges that he or she has been improperly denied access to information 
by DCS or the Department of Health; 

 
(6) The movant is an individual who alleges wrongful denial of access based on a prior 
finding of involuntary termination of parental rights. 

 
Subsection (d) requires the court to conduct an in camera inspection of records and 

permits disclosure only of information necessary to satisfy the disclosure needs stated above. 
 

Under subsection (e) DCS or the Department of Health may consent to the release of 
sealed post-adoption records or records of birth by agreed order. 
 

Under subsection (f) the court may order DCS to attempt to establish contact with any 
person or entity for the purpose of obtaining updated medical information, and if such 
information is obtained, the department may forward the information to a "qualified treatment 
professional." 
 

Under subsection (g) contact by a party eligible to search records under Section 36-1-127 
is not permitted if a contact veto has been registered.  DCS is required to inform the court 
whether any person has filed a contact veto. 
 
21. Penalty for Providing False Information.  Section 36-1-139 makes it a Class E felony for 
any person who knowingly provides false information in connection with any of the adoption 
records provisions (Sections 36-1-125 through 138 and 141). 
 
22. Putative Father Registry.  Section 36-2-318 governs the Putative Father Registry.  Under 
this Section putative fathers are required to register a notice of intent to claim paternity of a child 
prior to or within 30 days after the birth of the child, unless an order of parentage has been 
entered on the Registry, or unless a certified copy of a court order adjudicating such person to be 
the father of a child or a sworn acknowledgement of paternity has been filed with the Registry.  
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Filers are required to inform the Registry of changes to name or address within ten days of any 
change. 
 

Any person listed on the Registry is required to be notified by DCS of any adoption 
proceedings of which it receives notice.  In addition, persons listed on the Registry are entitled to 
notice of any pending adoption or termination proceeding by the petitioners.  When a registrant 
receives notice of adoption or termination proceedings, he has 30 days from receipt of such 
notice to file a petition to establish parentage or to intervene in the adoption or termination 
proceedings for the purpose of establishing a claim to paternity or to present a defense to the 
termination proceedings.  The failure of such a person to file a petition to establish parentage or 
to intervene is sufficient cause for the court to terminate the parental rights of such a person. 
 

CONCLUSION 
 

I hope this summary is useful. Of course, there is no substitute for reading the statute itself! 
 
RDT 
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