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VIOLATION OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW

Any person who violates the financial responsibility law is guilty of a crime.

For you to find the defendant guilty of this offense, the state must have proven beyond a reasonable doubt the existence of the following essential elements:

(1)(a)
that the defendant was charged with (here insert a traffic violation as described in T.C.A. § 55-12-139(b));

or

(b)
that the defendant was involved in an accident occurring upon a highway or the premises of a shopping center, trailer park or apartment house complex, or any other premises which are generally frequented by the public at large, which resulted in injury to or death of any person or property damage to an apparent extent of fifty dollars ($50.00) or more;

[or

(c)
Only for offenses committed on or after 7/1/13:  that the defendant was involved in an accident occurring upon a highway or the premises of a shopping center, trailer park or apartment house complex, or any other premises which are generally frequented by the public at large, which resulted in injury to or death of any person, and the defendant was at fault for the accident by acting with criminal negligence in the operation of the defendant’s motor vehicle;]

and

(2) that the defendant failed to provide:

(a) documentation, such as the declaration page of an insurance policy, an insurance binder, or an insurance card from an insurance company authorized to do business in Tennessee, stating that a policy of insurance meeting the requirements of the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Law of 1977, compiled in chapter 12 of title 55 of the Tennessee Code Annotated, has been issued;

(b) a certificate, valid for one (1) year, issued by the commissioner of safety, stating that a cash deposit or bond in the amount required by the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Law of 1977, compiled in chapter 12 of title 55 of the Tennessee Code Annotated, has been paid or filed with the commissioner, or has qualified as a self-insurer under § 55-12-111; or

(c) evidence that the motor vehicle being operated at the time of the violation was owned by a carrier subject to the jurisdiction of the department of safety or the interstate commerce commission, or was owned by the United States, this state or any political subdivision thereof, and that such motor vehicle was being operated with the owner’s consent.

[Only for offenses committed on or after 7/1/15: “Accident” includes any collision or crash, regardless of the degree of care exercised by the drivers involved or whether it was the result of criminal conduct.] 
“Motor vehicle” means every vehicle, including a low-speed vehicle or a medium-speed vehicle, that is self-propelled, excluding [Only for offenses committed on or after July 1, 2019: electric scooters, electric bicycles as defined in § 55-8-301,] motorized bicycles, [Only for offenses committed on or after July 1, 2020: personal delivery devices,] [Only for offenses committed on or after March 29, 2021: motorized wheelchairs,] or any vehicle, including a low-speed vehicle or a medium-speed vehicle that is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires, but not operated upon rails. “Low-speed vehicle” means any four-wheeled electric vehicle, excluding golf carts, whose top speed is greater than twenty miles per hour (20 mph) but not greater than twenty-five miles per hour (25 mph), including neighborhood vehicles. “Medium-speed vehicle” means any four-wheeled electric or gasoline-powered vehicle, excluding golf carts, whose top speed is greater than thirty miles per hour (30 mph) but not more than thirty-five miles per hour (35 mph).  “Vehicle” means every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway, excepting devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks.  
           ["Criminal negligence" means that a person acts with criminal negligence with respect to the circumstances surrounding the person's conduct or the result of that conduct when the person ought to be aware of a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the circumstances exist or the result will occur.  The risk must be of such a nature and degree that the failure to perceive it constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care that an ordinary person would exercise under all the circumstances as viewed from the accused person's standpoint.]

