

## THE TENNESSEE COURT OF THE JUDICIARY

511 Union Street Suite 600 Nashville, TN 37243-067

JUDGES OF THE TENNESSEE COURT OF THE JUDICIARY

Don R. Ash Presiding Judge

J.S. (Steve) Daniel Disciplinary Counsel

David M. Cook Angelita Blackshear Dalton David G. Hayes William A. Kelley Jane Latimer Christy R. Little Paul Neely Purnela L. Rceves Mary Martin Schaffner **Gregory D. Smith** Steve Stafford Jean A. Stanley Dwight E. Stokes D. Michael Swiney Bernie Weinman Thomas T. Woodall

February 19, 2008

## **RELEASE TO PRESS**

## PERSONAL/CONFIDENTIAL

The Honorable Burton D. Glover General Sessions Judge 531 South Brown Street Springfield, TN 37172

> RE: Complaint of Max D. Fagan File No. 06-2871

Dear Judge Glover:

This shall serve as a public letter reprimand pursuant to your agreement with the Investigative Panel of this Court.

The reprimand relates to the receipt of two corporate campaign contributions in your 1998 campaign, one of which was over \$1,000. During your 2006 campaign, there was one corporate contribution to your campaign. Neither corporate contributions nor contributions over \$1,000 were allowable under our election laws. You personally signed the campaign disclosure statements listing these contributions and should have known the contributions were improper. Upon being informed by Disciplinary Counsel of this Court of this



Michael W. Catalano, Clerk 100 Supreme Court Building 401 Seventh Avenue, North Nashville, TN 37219-1407 615-253-1470 The reprimand also relates to your campaign advertising during the 2006 election in which you knowingly misrepresented that Judge Max Fagan was habitually absent from court and that you had reduced juvenile crime by 25% during your prior term of office. This is a violation of Canon 5A(3)(d)(iii) of the Code of Judicial Conduct.

Thus, this letter serves as a public letter reprimand, and we are now closing our file. We greatly appreciate your cooperation with our Disciplinary Counsel and this Court throughout this process.

Sincerely yours,

Don R. Ash Presiding Judge

cc: David L. Raybin, Esq. Investigative Panel Disciplinary Counsel