
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE 
AT NASHVILLE 

JUL 19 2031 

IN RE: RULE 9, SECTION 20, 
RULES OF THE TENNESSEE SUPREME COURT 

No. M2011-01526-SC-RL2-RL - Filed: July 19,2011 

ORDER 

The Court is considering amendments to Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 9, $5  20.1,20.2 and 20.8 
to address several issues concerning exemptions to the requirement (imposed in 5 20.1) that 
attorneys admitted to practice in Tennessee pay an annual registration fee to the Board of 
Professional Responsibility. The proposed amendments, in summary, would adopt a new 
exemption for federal judges and for other federal officials who are barred by federal law 
from practicing law, would clarifjl the current rule's inactive-status provision, and would 
adopt a new requirement that specified lawyers assuming inactive status pay an annual 
inactive-status fee to the Board of Professional Responsibility. The proposed amendments 
are set out in the Appendix to this Order. 

The Court hereby publishes the proposed amendments for public comment and solicits 
written comments from the bench, the bar, and the public. The deadline for submitting 
written comments is Wednesday, November 16, 20 1 1. Written comments should be 
addressed to: 

Michael W. Catalano, Clerk 
100 Supreme Court Building 
401 Seventh Avenue North 
Nashville, TN 372 19- 1407 

and should reference the docket number set out above. 

The Clerk shall provide a copy of this order to LexisNexis and to Thomson Reuters. 
In addition, this order shall be posted on the Tennessee Supreme Court's website. 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

PER CURIAM 



APPENDIX 

PROPOSED INACTIVE-STATUS AMENDMENTS 
TENN. SUP. CT. R. 9 

[Proposal to amend Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 9, §§ 20.1,20.2 and 20.8 as indicated below; new text . . is indicated by underlining, and deleted text is indicated by e:] 
Section 20. Periodic Assessment of Attorneys. 

20.1. Every attorney admitted to practice before this Court, except those exempt 
under 20.2, shall pay to the Board of Professional Responsibility on or before March 1 of 
each year anammda fee a, . .  . 

the amount of which is to be set 
by the Court from time to time. 

All funds collected hereunder shall be deposited by the Board of Professional 
Responsibility with the State Treasurer; all such funds, including earnings on investments 
and all interest and proceeds from said finds, if any, are deemed to be, and shall be 
designated as, funds belonging solely to the Board of Professional Responsibility. 
Withdrawals from those funds shall only be made by the Board of Professional 
Responsibility & for the purpose of defraying the costs of disciplinary administration and 
enforcement of those rules, and for such other related purposes as this Court may from time 
to time authorize or direct. 

The annual registration fee for each attorney shall be $140, payable on January 2, 
2009, but no later than March 1, 2009, and a like sum each year thereafter until otherwise 
ordered by the Court. 

20.2. There shall be exempted from the application of this rule: 

(a) -*!%.35j Attorneys who serve as a 
justice, iudge, or magistrate of a court of the United States of 
America or who serve in any federal office in which the attornev 
is prohibited bv federal law from engaging in the practice of 
law. 

(b) Retired attorneys. 

(c) Attorneys on temporary duty with the armed forces. 

(d) Faculty members of Tennessee law schools who do not 
practice-. 



(e) Attorneys not engaged in the practice of law in Tennessee. 
The term "the practice of law" shall be defined as any service 
rendered involving legal knowledge or legal advice, whether of 
representation, counsel, or advocacy, in or out of court, rendered 
in respect to the rights, duties, regulations, liabilities, or business 
relations of one requiring the services. It shall encompass all 
public and private positions in which the attorney may be called 
upon to examine the law or pass upon the legal effect of any act, 
document, or law. 

20.8. An attorney who claims an exemption 
under section 20.2(a), (b), (d), or (e) shall advise the Board of Professional Responsibility 
in writing that such attorney desires to assume inactive status and discontinue the practice 
of law in this state. Upon the filing of such notice, the attorney shall no longer be eligible 
to practice law in Tennessee. 

An attorney who assumes inactive status under an exemption granted by section 
20.2(a), (d), or (e) shall pay to the Board of Professional Res~onsibilitv. on or before March 
1 of each year, an annual inactive-status fee set at one-half of the annual registration fee 
assessed under section 20.1. Such attorney shall file annually with the Board of Professional 
Responsibility at its central office a registration statement, on a form prescribed by the 
Board, setting - forth the attorney's current residential and office addresses. and such other 
information as the Board may direct. In addition to such statement, such attorney shall file 
with the Board a supplemental statement of any change in the information previouslv 
submitted within 30 days of such change. 

An attornev who assumes inactive status under the exemption granted by section 
20.2(e) and who is licensed to practice law in another iurisdiction shall not be eligible to 
provide any legal services in Tennessee pursuant to Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 8, RPC 5.5(c) or (d). 

(end of Appendix) 


