FILED 04/28/2025 Clerk of the

Appellate Courts

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE AT NASHVILLE

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO RULE 9, SECTION 10.6, RULE 21, SECTION 7.07, AND RULE 43, SECTION 15, RULES OF THE TENNESSEE SUPREME COURT

No. ADM2025-00590

ORDER

To clarify and bring consistency to the Rules of the Supreme Court concerning the effective date of suspensions, Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 9, section 10.6(c) (non-payment of an attorney's annual registration fee), Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 21, section 7.07 (non-compliance with continuing legal education requirements), and Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 43, section 15(c) (non-compliance with requirements for Interest on Lawyers' Trust Account (IOLTA) are hereby amended as set out in the attached Appendix to this Order.

These amendments memorialize existing practice and are effective immediately upon the filing of this Order.

The Clerk shall provide a copy of this Order and Appendix to Lexis Nexis and to Thomson Reuters. In addition, this Order and Appendix shall be posted on the Tennessee Supreme Court's website.

It is so ORDERED.

PER CURIAM

APPENDIX

(Docket No. ADM2025-00590)

[New text is indicated by underlining. Deleted text is indicated by strikethrough.]

Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 9, § 10.6(c) is amended to read as follows:

(c) Upon the Court's review and approval of the proposed Suspension Order, the Court will file the Order summarily suspending the license to practice law of each attorney listed in the Order. The suspension shall be effective immediately and shall remain in effect until the attorney completes all delinquent registration requirements, pays the delinquent registration fees or files the delinquent registration statement, and pays the One Hundred Dollar (\$100.00) delinquent compliance fee and the Two Hundred Dollar (\$200.00) reinstatement fee, and until the attorney is reinstated pursuant to Subsection (d). An attorney who fails to resolve the suspension within thirty days of the Court's filing of the Suspension Order shall comply with the requirements of Section 28.

Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 21, § 7.07 is amended to read as follows:

On August 15 of each year, the Commission shall submit to the Supreme Court a final Suspension Order listing all attorneys with active Tennessee law licenses who failed to comply with this Rule for the preceding calendar year. Also by August 15, the Commission shall notify the Board of Professional Responsibility of the names of all licensed attorneys who have retired, taken inactive status, been suspended, or whose license to practice law in this state is otherwise inactive, and who failed to comply with the requirements of this Rule. The Supreme Court will review the final Suspension Order and, upon the Court's approval, shall enter the Suspension Order suspending the law license of each attorney listed in the order. The suspension shall be effective immediately. The Board of Professional Responsibility shall not reactivate the license of any attorney whose license is suspended pursuant to this Rule until the Commission certifies completion of a program of remedial continuing legal education satisfactory to the Commission.

Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 43, § 15(c) is amended to read as follows:

- (c) On or before the 45th day following the mailing of each month's Notices of Noncompliance, the Board of Professional Responsibility shall:
- (i) prepare a proposed Suspension Order listing all lawyers who were issued Notices of Noncompliance for that month's birth month registration cycle and who failed to remedy timely their deficiencies;
- (ii) submit the proposed Suspension Order to the Supreme Court; and
- (iii) serve a copy of the proposed Suspension Order on each lawyer named in the Order.

The Supreme Court will review the proposed Suspension Order and enter such order as the Court may deem appropriate suspending the law license of each lawyer deemed by the Court to be not in compliance noncompliant with the requirements of this Rule. The suspension shall be effective immediately.

(End of Appendix)