SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE SUPREME COURT DISCRETIONARY APPEALS Grants & Denials List

Monday, July 3, 2006

GRANTS

STYLE/APPEAL NUMBER	COUNTY TRIAL JUDGE TRIAL COURT NO.	APPELLATE JUDGE JUDGMENT	NATURE OF APPEAL	ACTION	
<u>Nashville</u>					
None					
Knoxville					
None					
<u>Jackson</u>					
None					

SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE SUPREME COURT DISCRETIONARY APPEALS

Monday, July 3, 2006

DENIALS

STYLE/APPEAL NUMBER	COUNTY TRIAL JUDGE TRIAL COURT NO.	APPELLATE JUDGE JUDGMENT	NATURE OF APPEAL	ACTION	
<u>Nashville</u>					
Carlos Hardy & Atlanta Hardy v. State of Tennessee M2004-02249-SC-R11-CD	Davidson County Criminal Judge J. Randall Wyatt, Jr. No. 2002-D-1927	Smith, J Affirmed	Rule 11	 Denied - Application of Carlos Hardy Motion to be allowed to proceed in <i>forma pauperis</i> filed by Atlanta Hardy is granted. Denied - Application of Atlanta Hardy. The <i>pro se</i> motion for appointment of counsel 	
In Re: Sentinel Trust Company M2005-00031-SC-R11-CV	Lewis County Chancery Chancellor R. E. Lee Davies No. 4781	Crawford, J. Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Danny N. Bates, Clifton T. Bates, Howard H. Cochran, and Gary L. O'Brien	
In Re: Sentinel Trust Company M2005-01773-SC-R11-CV	Lewis County Chancery Chancellor R. E. Lee Davies No. 4781	Crawford, J. Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Danny N. Bates, Clifton T. Bates, Howard H. Cochran, and Gary L. O'Brien	

Sentinel Trust Company, et al. v. Kevin P. Lavender, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions M2005-01073-SC-R11-CV	Davidson County Chancery Judge Walter C. Kurtz No. 04-1934-I	Crawford, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Sentinel Trust Company, Danny N. Bates, Clifton T. Bates, Howard H. Cochran, and Gary L. O'Brien	
State of Tennessee v. James H. Carter M2005-01162-SC-R11-CD	Grundy County Circuit Judge J. Curtis Smith No. 4020	Wade, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of James H. Carter	
State of Tennessee v. James Wesley Martens M2005-00688-SC-R11-CD	Humphreys County Circuit Judge George C. Sexton No. 10545	McLin, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of James Wesley Martens	
Deanna Whitman v. State of Tennessee M2005-01321-SC-R11-PC	Warren County Circuit Judge Larry B. Stanley, Jr. No. F-8907, F-8908, F-8909	Witt, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Motion to be allowed to proceed in <i>forma pauperis</i> filed by Deanna Whitman is granted. Denied - Application of Deanna Whitman The <i>pro se</i> motion for appointment of counsel is denied.	
Knoxville					
Clifford Leon Farra v. State of Tennessee E2005-00963-SC-R11-PC	Sullivan County Circuit Judge R. Jerry Beck No. C49,329	Wade, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Dismissed - Application of Clifford Leon Farra	
Donald Jamison v. Harrell Ulrich, et al. E2005-01153-SC-R11-CV	Hamilton County Circuit Judge W. Neil Thomas, III No. 04-C-1258	Lee, J Affirmed and Remanded	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Donald Jamison	

State of Tennessee v. Albert Eugene Brooks and Janis Sue Watson E2004-02145-SC-R11-CD	Hamblen County Circuit Judge James Beckner No. 03CR297A & 03CR297	Williams, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Albert Eugene Brooks and Janis Sue Watson	
<u>Jackson</u>					
Carlito D. Adams v. State of Tennessee W2005-00459-SC-R11-PC	Shelby County Criminal Judge James C. Beasley No. P-22151	Woodall, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Carlito D. Adams	
Carlos L. Rice v. David Mills, Warden W2005-01800-SC-R11-HC	Lauderdale County Circuit Judge Joe H. Walker No. 5981	Hayes, J Affirmed Pursuant to Rule 20	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Carlos L. Rice	
Andrea Spencer v. State of Tennessee W2005-01050-SC-R11-PC	Shelby County Criminal Judge Joseph B. Dailey No. P-28171	Glenn, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Andrea Spencer	
State of Tennessee v. Ronald Crook W2005-02476-SC-S10-CD	Shelby County Criminal Judge James Beasley No. 04-08273	Hayes, J Denying motion to withdraw as counsel	Rule 10	Denied - Application of Ronald Crook	
State of Tennessee v. Terrance Wilkins and Christopher Hughlett W2003-03085-SC-R11-CD	Shelby County Criminal Judge Joseph B. Dailey Nos. 00-11193, 00-11194	Glenn, J Affirmed as Modified	Rule 11	Denied - Applications of Terrance Wilkins and Christopher Hughlett	
Marilyn Stavely v. AmSouth Bank (Milan, TN), et al. W2005-01354-SC-R11-CV	Gibson County Circuit Judge Clayburn Peeples No. 8037	Kirby, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Petition to Rehear the denial of her application filed by Marilyn Stavely is denied.	

Brenda Woods, et al. v. Cathy N. Jones, et al. W2005-02070-SC-R11-CV	Hardeman County Chancery Judge Allen W. Wallace No. 15485	Kirby, J Reversed and Remanded	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Cathy N. Jones, Administrator of Elections, Hardeman County Election Commission; Yvonne Allen, Hardeman County Election Commissioner; Carl Gibson, Hardeman County Election Commissioner; Tharen E. Haley, Hardeman County Election Commissioner; James E. Hicks, Hardeman County Election Commissioner; and Janet Wellons, Hardeman County Election Commissioner
Michael Lynn Younger v. State of Tennessee W2005-02080-SC-R11-CV	Tennessee Claims Commission Judge Nancy Miller-Herron No. 20301084	Crawford, J Affirmed	Rule 11	Denied - Application of Michael L. Younger