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“Why do they call it
rush hour when
nothing moves?”

— Robin Williams

Tennessee Child Support Metrics

* 32 Judicial Districts, covering all 95 counties
* 1in 5 children rely on our services

* 300,000+ cases
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Types of Child Support Cases

Cases being established, Cases where the custodial
enforced and/or modified by parent is receiving public
the Tennessee Child Support assistance from the state
Program

Child is in DCS custody and being

cared for by someone other than a |

parent, like a relative or in foster care Child support maintained privately,
such as following a divorce
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The 5 Primary Services Mandated by Title IV-D

Title IV-D of the Social Security Act mandates that each State have a statewide child support enforcement
program to ensure children are financially supported by their parents, promote family responsibility, and
reduce the cost of welfare benefits to the public.

Locate Establishment
Noncustodial

Establishment

of Paternity fi P

Parents Orders

Collection and
Distribution of

Enforcement

of Support

Orders Support Orders
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Cost Effective Program

2023 CHILD SuPPORT: MORE MONEY FOR FAMILIES

In FY2023, the child support program
collected $29,6 billion and served
12.7 million children
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Child Support across the Nation

Collections
Country: $29.6 Billion (FY23)
TN: $602 Million (FY21)

Children Served
Country:
TN

Cost effectiveness:

12.7 Million (FY23)
302,000 (FY21)
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Country $4.37 (FY23)
™ $7.92 (FY21)
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Tennessee Birth Statistics

2023 022

*Recorded live births 88,387 Recorded live births 87,853
*Unmarried mothers 37,012 <Unmarried mothers 36,686
(41.9%) (41.8%)

*Fathers unnamed 9,031 (24.4%) «Fathers unnamed 9,634 (26.3%)
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Clerk Responsibilities to Send in Final Paternity Orders

According to T.C.A. 836-2-313(d) “an order of parentage is
entered, the clerk of the court shall immediately transmit
a certified copy of the order and the completed
application for a new certificate of birth by parentage to
the registrar of vital records who shall issue a new
certificate of birth by parentage in conformity with the rules
and regulations of the department of health. Upon receipt
of the fee required by the department of health, the clerk
shall transmit the fee to the registrar of vital records.
Notwithstanding any law or regulation to the contrary, the
registrar shall not be required to issue a new certificate of
birth until the fee is paid.”
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What MUST be included in the order?

» Language stating the father is the “legal” or “biological”
father of the child addressed in the order

+ Full name of the child (include this regardless if the
surname is being changed or remaining the same)

+ Genetic testing attached the final order (if applicable)

Human Services

10

What MUST be sent with the Final order?

Exhibit A Exhibit A
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What MUST be sent with the Final order? (cont.)

e & PH-3343

— —— OR

Exhibit A
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Required Information for PH-3343 or Exhibit A

I. Information Concerning Child
1. Name of Child Prior to Court Order
2. Date of Birth
3. State of Birth
IIl. Information for New Certificate of Birth
1. Name of Child as Determined by Court (First, Middle, Last, Suffix)
Father of Child
Father’s Full Name as entered in court order
Father’s Date of Birth
Father’s Birthplace (State or Foreign Country), if known

Enter the father’s full name as listed in the court order, father’s
date of birth and birthplace, as these are required items for the
new birth certificate.
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Paternity Orders for Children NOT Born in Tennessee

Court clerk must send the certified order and
PH-3343 or Exhibit A to the Office of Vital
Records in the state where the child was
born.

ok wWwN

The state of birth will issue the new birth
certificate based on the parentage order.

Human Services

14

Surname of the child (T.C.A. § 68-3-305(a)(1))

Married Mother

1. If the mother was married at the time of either
conception or birth, or anytime between conception
and birth, to the natural father of the child, the name
of the natural father shall be entered on the certificate
and the surname of the child shall be entered on the
certificate as one of the following:

(A) The surname of the natural father; or

(B) The surname of the natural father in combination with
either the mother's surname or the mother's maiden
surname.

Human Services
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Surname of the child (T.C.A. § 68-3-305(b)(1))

Unmarried Mothers

(b)(1) If the mother was not married at the time of
either conception or birth or between conception and
birth, the name of the father shall not be entered on
the certificate of birth and all information pertaining to
the father shall be omitted, and the surname of the
child shall be that of either:

(A) The surname of the mother;

(8) The mother's maiden surname; or

(c) Any combination of the surnames listed in
subdivisions (b)(1)(A) and (B).
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Surname of the Child

IMPORTANT:

Parents always have the option to petition their
local court for a name change.
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Processing Time and Fees

Child support should include language in paternity orders
directing the non-custodial parent to pay the fee for an
amended birth certificate to the clerk within ten (10) days.

T.C.A. 8 36-2-313 requires the clerk to forward the fee, along
with a certified copy of the order, to Vital Records. The clerk
shall immediately send paternity orders to Vital Records
as they are filed, with or without the fee.

Human Services
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Amendment Fee Change

{3) Fees for services from the Office of Vital Records.

(a) For a search of the files and issuance of each certified or uncertified cnpy ul birth,
death, mamiage, or divorce record if found: ........ $15.00

(v)  For preparing a new certificate of birth by adoption, legitimation, or order of parentage:
. " o . e $15.00
(c)  For amending a birth, death, marriage, or divorce certificate within six months or more
after the date of the event:., - . . v $15.00

(d)  For preparing and filing a report of an adoption for a foreign-born person adop\en in
Tennessee $15.00

(e) For preparing and filing a delayed certificate of birth, death, mamiage, or divorce
$15.00

() For amending a birih certificate o remove the named father based on a Rescission of
Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity, unless the requestor submits an Affidavit of
Indigency to waive the fee entirely $15.00

(g) For a certified or uncertified copy of the supperting documentation used 1o file or
amend a record, which must be ruquusvad at the same time as the copy of the record is
requested, per document: ... $5.00

il les/1200/1200-07/1200-07-01.20220622.pdf
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How long will it take for the order to be processed?

How long will it take?
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TN Department of

.Human Services

What form does
Vital Records
require for
adoptions?

https://wwaw.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/health/documentsiita
|-records/PH-1248-Certificate-of-Adoption.pdf
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Conduct in Court

po:

Turn off al slectronic devices and cell phones
before entering courtroom

Aways stand when speaking to the Judge and
always cal the Jurge ~Your Honor”

Keep calm: Cantrol your emotions and stay
Focused

For More Information:

Visit the TOHS Child Support Wabsite for
Information and Office Locations:
TN.GovMumanservices/For-Families/Child
Support-Services html

You can find your nearest Child Support

Office at: huipsdworw in gov/humans

for-families/chikd support-secvices/chil
il

courthouse

W you do not understand a question, ask to have
the question repeated ar explained to you
Aways be honest when answering questions

pon't:

Bring weapans of any kind

Bring peaple with you unless they are
expecied to tesufy as a witness a5 court space &
mited

Bring children to court {unless Instructed 1o do
s0)

Smaoke, eat, drink, or chew gum in the
courtroom

Talk unless it s your turn 15 speak
Argue or Imerrupt

P2 1-633.772-TOHS (B347)
: ChildSupport.Customerservice DHS@1N gov
A: 505 Deaderick Street, Nashville, TN 37243

[
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naceexdance wih federal law and U5, Department of
Hiath an Human Senvices (HE) polky. 00 In=onusion
the! e cokr,

errlogers. You may a0 wrie Tennesses, DHE Col Aghtz
Compliance Offce,James X. Polk Buiding 505 Deaderick
Sered 140h Foor, Narkvle, T 37243, (815)313-478,

45915203 142010%20EXpecH20N20COU12002.19
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What to Expect in Court
Child Support Proceedings

How to Dress for Court

s important to dress

Helpful Tips

appearing in Court. Everything that you wear ta
Court should be clean and neat in appearance.

Examples of inappropriate clothing
+ Shons

+ Caps and hats (except those worn for religious
reasons)

« Tank tops

+ Muscle shirts

« Halter-neck tops

ops

- sed

rough clothing

+ Bagey pants that fall below your hips

« Ripped or torn jeans

« Mini skirts

*+ Pajama pants

+ Sunglasses (unless those worn for medical
purposes)

« Shirts with vulgar or profane words, or which
depict drugs, akcohol, viclence, or sex

« House shoes or siippers

1f you are not dressed appropriately, you may be
asked to leave the courtroom.
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+ Make sure you are able to attend yaur Court
date, If not, call your local Child Support office
immediately to inform them. However, i ks the
Court that determines if you may be excused
from attending your heating.

+ Print any documents that you may need for
‘your Court hearing (the Court may not allow
cell phanes in the Courtroam):

= Three (3) most recent pay stubs (or proof
ofincome for o longer perlod of tme, if
Instructed)

+ Proof of health Insurance

« Proofof payment for childcare

~ Proof of any children you are legally
responsibie for who are not part of this
case and proof of support for the previous
12 months

- Proof of support you pay for each
individual chid an this case since the chiid's
bifth or separation from the other parent

(You may be required to provide additional
documentation s well)

Courts will make reasonable accommodations
to individualz with disabilties. I you require
reasonable accommodations, natify the Court
Prior ta your Court date.

The Day of Your Court
Hearing

« Plan to arrive early. | you arrive late, your case
may be delayed, cancefled, or the Court may
proceed withaut you.

+ Bring any papers, documents of other tems of
proof with you to Court. Print these documents
45 you may not be able 1o rely upon your cell
phani, If the Court does not allow you to have
them on your person.

+ When arriving to the Courthouse, metal
detectors are set up at the front doors. Make
sure you are nat carrying anything that might
be considered a weapon

+ Once you have entered the courthouse, g0
directly to the courtroom your case has been
assigned.

« Stand when the Judge enters the room (you will
be told when you can sit down),

* Quietly walt on your case to be called.

+ When your case is called, you wil be directed
where to stand whike the Judge reviews your
case.

« When speaking to the Judge, speak clearly and
answer Ves" o "No” questions with Yes Your
Honor or "No Your Hen

« After the Judge has reviewed your case, a Court
officer will el you when you are allowed to
leave the courtroom.

Relative Caregiver Program

https:
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Children and relative caregivers
enrolled in the state program can
receive supportive services such as
information and referrals, access to
support groups, respite care, and
family advocacy assistance.

The Relative Caregiver Program can
be helpful in cases where:

+ Children are abandoned

« Both parents have died

« Aparentis incarcerated
A child is being abused or
neglected at home

DCS contracts with community-
eention-n-  Dased agencies to provide services

home/RelativeCaregiverFlyer.pdf

pariment o
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in all 95 counties. Contact
Information by region is below.
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Fatherhood Direct Services

Waest Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Human Services

Fatherhood Initiative

Human Services
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Any questions?

Contact Information

* Paternity/VAoP Program
— Hotline Number: 800-457-2165 or 615-741-6050
— Email: ChildSupportPaternity.VAoP.DHS@tn.gov

* Krystle Glenn, TDHS Child Support Compliance Program Manager

— Krystle.Glenn@tn.gov
— 615-770-1996

« Daphne A. Davidson, TDHS Senior Associate Counsel
Daphne.A.Davidson@tn.gov
— 615-313-2258
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