Five Apply for 24th Judicial District Chancery Court Vacancy

May 29, 2019

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will consider five applicants when it meets on Tuesday, June 25 to select nominees for the chancery court judge vacancy in the 24th judicial district, which covers Benton, Carroll, Decatur, Hardin, and Henry counties. This vacancy was created by the appointment and confirmation of Judge Carma Dennis McGee to the Court of Appeals, Western Section.

The applicants are:

J. Brent Bradberry

Vance Walker Dennis

Rebecca Griffey

Shon DeBrock Johnson

Jennifer Twyman King

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will interview the applicants on June 25 at a location to be announced soon.

The meeting will include a public hearing starting at 9 a.m. CDT, during which anyone may express their opinions in opposition to the applicants. The Commission is expected to vote immediately following the interviews and forward three names to Governor Bill Lee for his consideration. 

Completed applications of all the candidates can be found on