Advisory Task Force on Composition of Judicial Districts

On May 21, 2018, Governor Haslam signed into law Public Chapter 974, which established an Advisory Task Force of 11 members appointed jointly by the Speaker of the Senate and Speaker of the House "to review the composition of Tennessee's current judicial districts." Information about the eleven appointed members is available here.

Chaired by the Honorable Telford E. Forgety, Chancellor in the 4th and 5th Judicial Districts, the Advisory Task Force is charged with reporting its recommendations for "a proposed statewide redistricting plan [that provides] reasonable and timely access to Tennessee's circuit, chancery, and criminal courts and shall promote the efficient utilization of publicly funded resources allocated for the courts." The plan must be published by December 1, 2019.

The Advisory Task Force will hold three public hearings, one hearing in each of Tennessee's three Grand Divisions, and public notice of those hearings, along with any additional meetings of the Advisory Task Force, will be posted here when scheduled.


View biographical information about the Advisory Task Force on Composition of Judicial Districts

Telford E. Forgety, Chair
4th and 5th Judicial Districts


Bo Burk
District Public Defender
25th Judicial District

James B. "J.B." Cox
17th Judicial District

Mark Davidson
District Attorney General
25th Judicial District


Craig P. Fickling
Public Defender
13th Judicial District

John Fine
Clerk and Master
Rhea County
Kim R. Helper
District Attorney General
21st Judicial District
Russell Johnson
District Attorney General
9th Judicial District
Jim Kyle
30th Judicial District
Kim R. Nelson
Public Defender
9th Judicial District
John L. Ryder
Harris | Shelton

For inquiries or additional information about the Advisory Task Force, please contact: