Advisory Task Force on Composition of Judicial Districts Announces Public Hearings

February 20, 2019

The Advisory Task Force on Composition of Judicial Districts has announced four public hearing dates to receive comments from those interested in sharing their thoughts on judicial districts in Tennessee.  The hearing dates are:

March 4, 2019, 1 p.m.
Cordell Hull Building – Senate Hearing Room 2
425 5th Avenue North

April 15, 2019, 1 p.m.
Madison County Criminal Justice Complex – Suite 300
515 S. Liberty Street

May 20, 2019, 1 p.m.
Roane State Community College – Raider Room
276 Patton Lane

June 12, 2019, 1 p.m.
Rutherford County Judicial Complex
116 West Lytle Street

All times are local.  Attendees must sign up online in advance to speak. Each speaker will be limited to five minutes. Interested parties may also submit written public comments to the Advisory Task Force for consideration. Written public comments must be submitted online.

The Advisory Task Force was created on May 21, 2018 when then-Governor Bill Haslam signed into law Public Chapter 974. The Advisory Task Force has 11 members, appointed jointly by the Speaker of the Senate and Speaker of the House, "to review the composition of Tennessee's current judicial districts." A full list of committee members, including biographies, is available online.

Chaired by the Honorable Telford E. Forgety, Chancellor in the 4th and 5th Judicial Districts, the Advisory Task Force is charged with reporting its recommendations for "a proposed statewide redistricting plan [that provides] reasonable and timely access to Tennessee's circuit, chancery, and criminal courts and shall promote the efficient utilization of publicly funded resources allocated for the courts." The plan must be published by December 1, 2019.

Tennessee currently has 31 judicial districts, ranging from nine single-county districts to a six county and a seven county district, and 158 trial-level judges.  Each district also has an attorney general office and public defender office. In 2018, the Tennessee General Assembly passed legislation that created three new judge positions. The new positions were in the state’s 19th Judicial District, which serves Montgomery and Robertson counties; the 16th Judicial District, which includes Rutherford and Cannon counties; and the 21st Judicial District, which includes Hickman, Lewis, Perry, and Williamson counties.

The following links may be used to learn more about the Advisory Task Force and the public hearings:

Advisory Task Force website

Reserve a spot to speak at a hearing

Submit a written public comment