Circuit, Criminal, Chancery & Business Courts

Tennessee’s 95 counties are divided into 32 judicial districts. Within each district are Circuit Courts and Chancery Courts, as provided by the state constitution. Some districts also have legislatively established Criminal Courts and Probate Courts. Judges of these courts are elected to 8-year terms. Learn more here.


May 24, 2024

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission is currently accepting applications for judicial positions in the 4th, 19th, and 23rd Judicial Districts.

The new…

May 01, 2024

Courtesy of: The National Judicial College

April 22, 2024

Retired Sixth Judicial District Circuit…

April 18, 2024

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will consider nine applicants when it meets Tuesday, May 21 in Gallatin to select nominees for a circuit court judge vacancy in the 18th…


Podcast - Tennessee Court Talk

Chancery Court in Tennessee