Circuit, Criminal, Chancery & Business Courts

Tennessee’s 95 counties are divided into 32 judicial districts. Within each district are Circuit Courts and Chancery Courts, as provided by the state constitution. Some districts also have legislatively established Criminal Courts and Probate Courts. Judges of these courts are elected to 8-year terms. Learn more here.


February 20, 2024

The Board of Judicial Conduct issued a public reprimand of Shelby County Criminal Court Judge Skahan.…

February 05, 2024

The Executive Committee of the Tennessee Judicial Conference, which represents all state judges, recently sent a letter to Governor Bill Lee, Lieutenant Governor Randy…

January 26, 2024

The Board of Judicial Conduct has recommended that the Tennessee General Assembly remove Judge Melissa Boyd, a criminal court judge in the 30th Judicial District (Shelby…


Podcast - Tennessee Court Talk

Chancery Court in Tennessee