Circuit, Criminal, Chancery & Business Courts

Tennessee’s 95 counties are divided into 31 judicial districts. Within each district are Circuit Courts and Chancery Courts, as provided by the state constitution. Some districts also have legislatively established Criminal Courts and Probate Courts. Judges of these courts are elected to 8-year terms. Learn more here.


September 28, 2023

Today, Tennessee…

Judge Norman at his retirement party.
September 25, 2023

The Tennessee judiciary is mourning the loss of retired 20th Judicial District Judge Seth Walker Norman, who passed away on September 25 at the age of 89. Judge Norman…

August 31, 2023

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission met today in Franklin to consider four candidates for a circuit court judge vacancy in the 21st Judicial District, which includes…